
TOKYO (MacHouse) – In reference to our report of January 12, 2009, a legal representative of Duebelbeis and Clever Agency opened a support ticket at our website to indicate their intention of suiting MacHouse. They write
This law firm represents Bobby Duebelbeis, and we have been asked to write this letter to you. Many of your statements about Bobby Duebelbeis in your blog postings are untrue and defamatory. You made them maliciously to injure Bobby Duebelbeis in his trade, office and profession. As such, they are defamatory per se. Under O.C.G.A. 51-5-11, this letter constitutes a demand for immediate retraction in writing of these false and libelous statements. In accordance with MO Statute 509.210, Bobby Duebelbeis deamnds that your retraction and correction be accompanied by an editorial in which you specifically repudiated your libelous statements. (See Screenshot 01.)
![]() Screenshot 01 – Source: MacHouse |
In general, MacHouse seeks peaceful resolutions when possible. In this particular case, Mr. Duebelbeis’s legal representative contends that
[we] claim that both clever-agency.com and spiffylife.com are hosted on the same name server by the same hosting company. There is no way to know this, and it is a completely baseless and inaccurate claim.
![]() Screenshot 02 – Source: MacHouse |
![]() Screenshot 03 – Source: MacHouse |
But that’s not what our report says. We clearly indicated that “the domains of clever-agency.com and thespiffylife.com both point to the same set of nameservers.” We never mentioned that these domains were hosted on the same nameservers, which doesn’t literally make any sense. In fact, Screenshot 02-03 show that these domains currently point to the same set of nameservers. It is also true that the websites at clever-agency.com and thespiffylife.com were (and are currently) hosted by DreamHost. That’s a fact. In the meantime, if they have evidence that these domains did not point to the same set of nameservers at the time of January 12, we intend to take down the article in question. In other words, unless they specifically present such evidence, we have no intention of retracting the article.
![]() Screenshot 04 – Source: WordPress |
So what do they mean by “many of these errors”? We have no clue. Right… The article contains several innocent numerical mistakes and typos. And it doesn’t provide false information. The comments posted by Mr. Duebelbeis were spam. When nobody asked, he mentioned his website with a hyperlink. If you visit one of the comments he posted at WordPress, what do you see? [sig moderated] (See Screenshot 04.) It’s been moderated.
Related stories:
CLEVER-AGENCY.COM & THESPIFFYLIFE.COM: Clever Agency or Spam Agency?
WordPress Support: [Plugin: SMS Text Message] How to get rid of the stupid Commercial Links: 101



