MacHouse video tutorials for Mac search engine optimization Spam database Web Hosting providers Web Hosting review web hosting providers MacHouse Help

March 22, 2009

Beware of a Phishing Website Targeting Halifax Online Banking Customers - Part 1

Filed under: Internet security — Administrator @ 4:57 pm
Posted about 1 years and 5 months ago

anti spam






TOKYO (MacHouse) - According to the website at http://www.halifax.co.uk, Halifax is a division of Bank of Scotland. (Screenshot 01 shows the gate page of Halifax’s website.) And it’s this Halifax that has become the latest target of a phishing campaign.





Halifax Personal Banking phishing uplink411.com
Screenshot 01 - Source:
Halifax
  Halifax Personal Banking phishing uplink411.com
Screenshot 02 - Source:
MacHouse
  Halifax Personal Banking phishing uplink411.com
Screenshot 03 - Source:
uplink411.com






An organized cyber criminal group circulated a spam message about two hours implicating Halifax Online Banking. Sender’s e-mail address is shown as online@halifax.co.uk. And the title of the message is *IMPORTANT *Update Your Halifax Online Banking*. The phishing message says







Halifax PLC. has been receiving complaints from our customers for
unauthorised use of the Halifax Online accounts.

We’ve introduced some additional security measures to our Online
Banking service to help keep you secure.
As a result we are making an extra security check on all of our Customers
account in order to protect their information from theft and fraud.

Due to this, you are requested to follow the provided steps and confirm your
Online Banking details for the safety of your Accounts.

We take online security very seriously. Here are just some of the measures we’re
taking to protect you and your data..

We recommend you to confirm your Online Banking details

Click Here.






(See Screenshot 02.) The URL underlying ‘Click Here’ is http://uplink411.com/okcjournal/
shopping/www.halifax-online.co.uk. (A continuous URL is divided into two lines.) And that’s where a phishing website is currently hosted. (See Screenshot 03.)  

Our preliminary analysis indicates that the phishing website targeting Halifax Online Banking customers is hosted in Orlando, Florida, USA. Furthermore, the phishing message may have originated from a web server hosted in Ashburn, Virginia, USA. We will have a more detailed report hopefully within 24 hours.






Click on the button to watch a short documentation video. VTC
Click on the button to watch more documentation videos. VTC





********** ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** **********

MacHouse is not funded by tax payers' money. We have limited resources. We also need time to sleep and eat just as others. So we will not act as the International police to contact all victims of website abuse. All you have to do is to subscribe to spam messages and spam posts. If we can, why don't you?







2 Responses to “Beware of a Phishing Website Targeting Halifax Online Banking Customers - Part 1”

  1. Ainan Says:

    is this an illegal halifax email?
    halifax-fundstransfer@live.com

    [Partially moderated by Administrator to make the link non-clickable]

  2. Administrator Says:

    We have no clue.

Leave a Reply


You are prohibited from posting comments merely to advertise your website. Please read Rules and About This Blog at the top menu bar for more information.

Because of spam-comment criminals, we are forced to manually moderate every comment that you may post. Your comment will appear only after we review and then approve it. It will take us several hours at most to review it.

Please note that all one-sentence comments will be automatically rejected as an anti-spam measure.

Subscribe without commenting