MacHouse video tutorials for Mac search engine optimization Spam database Web Hosting providers Web Hosting review web hosting providers MacHouse Help

March 6, 2009

Security Alert: Beware of YuoTube Secret Video - Part 2

Filed under: Internet security — Administrator @ 3:48 am
Posted about 1 years and 6 months ago

anti spam






TOKYO (MacHouse) - As we reported earlier, an organized cyber criminal group is currently running a dangerous campaign to possibly infect Internet users with computer viruses. Social networking websites or similar such as those at webjunction.org, work.com and wis.dm are exploited with spam profiles. (See Screenshots 01-3.) All these spam profiles contain links to http://vbestserv.org/ds/go.php?sid=1. The criminal group uses this domain to redirect Internet users to various malicious websites.





YuoTube setup.exe
Screenshot 01 - Source:
WebJunction
  YuoTube setup.exe
Screenshot 02 - Source:
Work.com
  YuoTube setup.exe
Screenshot 03 - Source:
wis.dm






Redirected by vbestserv.org, one of destinations is a fake video website titled YuoTube. (See Screenshot 04.) The same fake video website is hosted by more than a dozen servers, whose IP addresses include 66.249.155.147, 70.254.144.26, 67.176.243.41, 76.105.33.169, 84.75.179.194, 79.37.67.246, 88.160.254.35 and 99.187.194.59. A couple of servers are hosted by Comcast Cable Communications. One of them is hosted by SBC Internet Services. As we reported several hours ago, these servers are all exploited to make Internet users download a file titled setup.exe.  





YuoTube setup.exe
Screenshot 04 - Source:
YuoTube
  YuoTube setup.exe
Screenshot 05 - Source:
MacHouse
  YuoTube setup.exe
Screenshot 06 - Source:
MacHouse






The updated definition of Norton Internet Security may not find anything suspicious in the setup file. Screenshot 05 shows that scanning the file itself has led nowhere even right after updating the virus definition. So we double-clicked on the setup file. Screenshot 06 shows that the same anti-virus application has detected several malicious codes that include ld01.exe, .MH690, Trojan Horse and Downloader. Furthermore, if we scan the entire C drive… Norton Internet Security finds malicious cookies tracking websites at yieldmanager.com, doubleclick.net, ad.yieldmanager.com and so forth. (See Screenshot 07.)





YuoTube setup.exe
Screenshot 07 - Source:
MacHouse
  YuoTube setup.exe
Screenshot 08 - Source:
MacHouse






So who is behind the redirection website hosted at the domain of vbestserv.org? This domain points to a pair of nameservers, which are ns0.hqhost.net and ns1.hqhost.net. Running a traceroute search on these nameservers individually, we end up with the IP addresses of 88.214.192.200 and 88.214.228.200. According to RIPE, these IP addresses are assigned to an organization called UAOnline HQHost or similar. (See Screenshot 08.) This organization seems to have Ukraine and Russian connections. We won’t show you why we thinks so this time.

Can we have the malicious redirection website at vbestserv.org shut down? Chances are that we can. But we won’t waste our valuable time for now.

The following QuickTime documentation video shows what happened after double-clicking on the setup file downloaded at http://88.160.254.35.






Click on the button to watch a short documentation video. VTC
Click on the button to watch more documentation videos. VTC






Related stories:

Security Alert: Beware of YuoTube Secret Video - Part 1
LIVEVIDEO.COM and Other Websites Continuing to Send Internet Users to Fake Codec Websites with Trojan Horse Viruses - Part 2
LIVEVIDEO.COM and Other Websites Continuing to Send Internet Users to Fake Codec Websites with Trojan Horse Viruses - Part 1
Junk Profiles at LIVEVIDEO.COM Sending Internet Users to Fake Codec Websites - Part 2
Junk Profiles at LIVEVIDEO.COM Sending Internet Users to Fake Codec Websites - Part 1
Beware of Fake PornTube Website at KUKUZHMUKU.COM Hosted in California - Part 2
Beware of Fake PornTube Website at KUKUZHMUKU.COM Hosted in California - Part 1





********** ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** **********

MacHouse is not funded by tax payers' money. We have limited resources. We also need time to sleep and eat just as others. So we will not act as the International police to contact all victims of website abuse. All you have to do is to subscribe to spam messages and spam posts. If we can, why don't you?







One Response to “Security Alert: Beware of YuoTube Secret Video - Part 2”

  1. rebecca Says:

    i clicked on the yuotube system and now my facebook makes it my status everytime i log in. My computer is also having a hard time accessing the internet. is there a possible way for you to set up a section on your site with the information you know so that we may try to deal with some of the problem ourselves? If you have anyinformation on how to clear this virus from my computer, please email me.

Leave a Reply


You are prohibited from posting comments merely to advertise your website. Please read Rules and About This Blog at the top menu bar for more information.

Because of spam-comment criminals, we are forced to manually moderate every comment that you may post. Your comment will appear only after we review and then approve it. It will take us several hours at most to review it.

Please note that all one-sentence comments will be automatically rejected as an anti-spam measure.

Subscribe without commenting