MacHouse video tutorials for Mac search engine optimization Spam database Web Hosting providers Web Hosting review web hosting providers MacHouse Help

January 25, 2009

Active PayPal Phishing Website Hosted in Ecuador

Filed under: Internet security — Administrator @ 7:31 pm
Posted about 1 years and 7 months ago

anti spam






TOKYO (MacHouse) - More than three hours ago, an organized cyber criminal group circulated a spam message implicating eBay-owned online payment company again. This time, a PayPal phishing website is hosted not in China but in Ecuador.

The phishing message that was circulated a while ago is all written in German. Its subject line is Wichtige botschaft aus - Mit großer Aufmerksamkeit gelesen! Sender’s address is shown as service@paypal-inc.de. The message itself is quite simple. It says






Sie haben 1 neue Nachricht Security Alert!

Anmelden in Ihrem Konto und das Problem behoben werden.

Klicken Sie hier, um sich in

The PayPal Team






The underlying URL in the hyperlink is http://ccpp.org.ec/boletines/_vt/
paypal-aktualisieren-Sie-Ihre-Kontoinformationen/ (A continuous URL is split into two lines.) Accessing it, one will end up at an active PayPal phishing website hosted in Ecuador.  





German PayPal phishing mail.ac-conseil.com ccpp.org.ec
Screenshot 01 - Source:
MacHouse
  German PayPal phishing mail.ac-conseil.com ccpp.org.ec
Screenshot 02 - Source:
ccpp.org.ec






Screenshot 01 shows the actual phishing message. And Screenshot 02 shows the login page of the PayPal phishing website in question. If you try to log in with an e-mail address and a password, you are likely to see an error message. (See Screenshot 03.) If you instead click on the button that says Einloggen, leaving those text boxes blank, you are like to further proceed to an account information page. (See Screenshot 04)





German PayPal phishing mail.ac-conseil.com ccpp.org.ec
Screenshot 03 - Source:
ccpp.org.ec
  German PayPal phishing mail.ac-conseil.com ccpp.org.ec
Screenshot 04 - Source:
ccpp.org.ec






Our preliminary analysis suggests that a phishing message originated from a mail server belonging to a telecommunications company in France called Accetis International. The very spammer sending the HELO command may come from Texas, USA. We will have a more detailed report hopefully within 24 hours.






Related stories:

PayPal Phishing Website Hosted by Chinese University
PayPal Phishing E-mail Out Targeting German Users Once Again - Part 2
PayPal Phishing E-mail Out Targeting German Users Once Again - Part 1
Briefly: PayPal Phishing Website Ex Argentine Targeting German Users, Mail Originating from ROSENBLUMEYECENTERS.COM
Active PayPal Phishing Website Ex Argentine Targeting German Users - Part 2
Active PayPal Phishing Website Ex Argentine Targeting German Users - Part 1
Another Active PayPal Phishing Website Targeting German Users - Part 2
New Active PayPal Phishing Website Targeting German Users - Part 2
Another Active PayPal Phishing Website Targeting German Users - Part 1
New Active PayPal Phishing Website Targeting German Users - Part 1
Active Phishing Website Targeting German PayPal Users - Part 2
Active Phishing Website Targeting German PayPal Users - Part 1





********** ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** **********

MacHouse is not funded by tax payers' money. We have limited resources. We also need time to sleep and eat just as others. So we will not act as the International police to contact all victims of website abuse. All you have to do is to subscribe to spam messages and spam posts. If we can, why don't you?







One Response to “Active PayPal Phishing Website Hosted in Ecuador”

  1. Administrator Says:

    According to the HTML source of the phishing message, the immediate sender is traced to the IP address of 62.23.127.148. This IP address is traced to a mail server run by a French organization called AC Conseil. The true origin of the phishing message is the IP address of 66.34.152.1. It’s traced to twighlight.propagation.net.

Leave a Reply


You are prohibited from posting comments merely to advertise your website. Please read Rules and About This Blog at the top menu bar for more information.

Because of spam-comment criminals, we are forced to manually moderate every comment that you may post. Your comment will appear only after we review and then approve it. It will take us several hours at most to review it.

Please note that all one-sentence comments will be automatically rejected as an anti-spam measure.

Subscribe without commenting