MacHouse video tutorials for Mac search engine optimization Spam database Web Hosting providers Web Hosting review web hosting providers MacHouse Help

December 28, 2008

Spammed by Gadgets DIRECT?: Gadgets DIRECT Misrepresenting Gadgets.CO.UK

Filed under: Internet security — Administrator @ 4:42 pm
Posted about 1 years and 7 months ago

anti spam






TOKYO (MacHouse) - An organization Alan People calls Gadgets DIRECT Lmtd UK sells cellular phones according to the spam message he sent out about six hours ago. The subject line of the message is END OF YR SLASH:Blackberry/$350,iPhone/$250,Omnia/$470,SE-X1/$500. (See Screenshot 01.) At the end of the message, we read






Alan Pepple
Gadgets DIRECT Lmtd UK
6 Greenhill Crescent,
Watford Business Park,Watford,WD18 8RF.UNITED KINGDOM






What is Gadgets DIRECT Lmtd UK? It looks like a fake entity misrepresenting an organization called Gadgets.co.uk Ltd, whose address is shown as






6 Greenhill Crescent
Watford Business Park
Watford
WD18 8RF





Gadgets.co.uk Ltd Gadgets UK DIRECT TradeDoubler
Screenshot 01 - Source:
MacHouse
  Gadgets.co.uk Ltd Gadgets UK DIRECT TradeDoubler
Screenshot 02 - Source:
Gadgets.co.uk Ltd






at their website. (Screenshot 02 shows the contact page of Gadgets.co.uk Ltd’s website.) So who is behind this fake entity? Someone from Watford, U.K.? We aren’t sure. But it’s possible that the impostor is from Queensland, Australia.  





Gadgets.co.uk Ltd Gadgets UK DIRECT TradeDoubler
Screenshot 03 - Source:
Gadgets UK Direct
  Gadgets.co.uk Ltd Gadgets UK DIRECT TradeDoubler
Screenshot 04 - Source:
TradeDoubler
 






Found at the bottom of the spam message is a hyperlink shown as http://www.gadgetsukdirect.com. Clicking on it, one will be directed to a scam website launched around April 2, 2008. (See Screenshot 03.) It’s created with WordPress, a popular free blog software package. If you click on one of the gadget images, you will be directed to a website run by an affiliate marketing website called TradeDoubler. (Screenshot 04 shows the gate page of TradeDoubler’s website.) You now know what this impostor is after. He or she wants to make affiliate money by misrepresent himself/herself as a British gadget website person and directing Internet users to TradeDoubler. What a cheesy scam, huh!?





Gadgets.co.uk Ltd Gadgets UK DIRECT TradeDoubler
Screenshot 05 - Source:
MacHouse
  Gadgets.co.uk Ltd Gadgets UK DIRECT TradeDoubler
Screenshot 06 - Source:
JR Online
  Gadgets.co.uk Ltd Gadgets UK DIRECT TradeDoubler
Screenshot 07 - Source:
ServInt Internet Services






Let’s find out who is behind this cheesy scam operation. Screenshot 05 shows the HTML source code of the spam message. It shows that the spam message originates from a mail server of megahost-2.nl, whose IP address is correctly recorded as 87.249.106.31. This mail server belongs to a web hosting company called JR Online (jronline.nl or hostnederland.nl) (Screenshot 06 shows the index page of JR Online’s website.) Furthermore, the web server hosting the junk website at the domain of gadgetsukdirect.com is traced to the IP address of 207.58.130.141. This website appears to be hosted by ServInt Internet Services, a web hosting company located in McLean, VA, USA.

So where does the impostor come from? Watford, U.K.? The Netherlands? McLean, VA? Hmm… We aren’t sure. However, the domain registration of gadgetsukdirect.com shows that the registrant is






Global Research Associates Trust
Ian G. Fleming

290 Woongarra Scenic Drive
Bargara
Queensland,4670
AU





Gadgets.co.uk Ltd Gadgets UK DIRECT TradeDoubler
Screenshot 08 - Source:
Domain Tools
  Gadgets.co.uk Ltd Gadgets UK DIRECT TradeDoubler
Screenshot 09 - Source:
The UK2 Group Ltd
  Gadgets.co.uk Ltd Gadgets UK DIRECT TradeDoubler
Screenshot 10 - Source:
MacHouse






(See Screenshot 08.) We can tell you that an organization called The UK2 Group Ltd probably knows the true identity of the impostor. (Screenshot 09 shows the index page of The UK2 Group’s website.) Why? No.1, that’s impostor’s domain registrar. No. 2, one of the nameservers that this domain points to is ns1.xf2.net. According to InterNIC, the domain of xf2.net is registered by The UK2 Group Ltd.





********** ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** **********

MacHouse is not funded by tax payers' money. We have limited resources. We also need time to sleep and eat just as others. So we will not act as the International police to contact all victims of website abuse. All you have to do is to subscribe to spam messages and spam posts. If we can, why don't you?







Leave a Reply


You are prohibited from posting comments merely to advertise your website. Please read Rules and About This Blog at the top menu bar for more information.

Because of spam-comment criminals, we are forced to manually moderate every comment that you may post. Your comment will appear only after we review and then approve it. It will take us several hours at most to review it.

Please note that all one-sentence comments will be automatically rejected as an anti-spam measure.

Subscribe without commenting