MacHouse video tutorials for Mac search engine optimization Spam database Web Hosting providers Web Hosting review web hosting providers MacHouse Help

December 15, 2008

Beware of an Active Skype Phishing Website Hosted by Wistee (WISTEE.FR) - Part 1

Filed under: Internet security — Administrator @ 12:32 am
Posted about 1 years and 8 months ago

anti spam






TOKYO (MacHouse) - More than 5 hours ago, an organized phishing crime group circulated at least two copies of a phishing e-mail message implicating Skype - a peer-to-peer voice network over the Internet. The title of the spam message is Please Update Your Skype Account Informations. (See Screenshot 01.) The phishing message urges the recipient to update their Skype account by December 18, or it will be deleted. The URL given in the message is http://secureskype.uuuq.com/index.php/.





Skype phishing wistee wistee.fr
Screenshot 01 - Source: MacHouse
  Skype phishing wistee wistee.fr
Screenshot 02 - Source: wistee.fr






Accessing the URL shown above, one will be redirected to a different website. The actual phishing website is hosted at http://monybokers.ns8-wistee.fr. (See Screenshot 02.) Wistee, again! This phishing website is hosted by a disgraced French web hosting company called Wistee. We have mentioned their name more than a dozen times this year alone. 

Our preliminary analysis indicates that





  • The IP address of the server hosting the phishing website is traced to 91.121.124.22 (France).
  • The redirection website is hosted in Poland.
  • The phishing message originates from Tampa, Florida, USA.





  • We will have a more detailed report in several hours.






    Click on the button to watch a documentation video. VTC
    Click on the button to watch more documentation videos. VTC






    Related stories:

    Beware of French PayPal Phishing Website Hosted at WordPress Blog (Prenez garde d’un site Web phishing de PayPal accueilli à infantmemories.com.)
    Beware of Skype Phishing Website Hosted at French Web Host
    Active PayPal Phishing Website Found Involving French Web Host WISTEE.FR Again! (2)
    Active PayPal Phishing Website Found Involving French Web Host WISTEE.FR Again! (1)
    Beware of Bank of America Phishing Website Hosted in France
    Phishing Website Targeting French PayPal Users (2)
    Phishing Website Targeting French PayPal Users (1)





    ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** **********

    MacHouse is not funded by tax payers' money. We have limited resources. We also need time to sleep and eat just as others. So we will not act as the International police to contact all victims of website abuse. All you have to do is to subscribe to spam messages and spam posts. If we can, why don't you?







    Leave a Reply


    You are prohibited from posting comments merely to advertise your website. Please read Rules and About This Blog at the top menu bar for more information.

    Because of spam-comment criminals, we are forced to manually moderate every comment that you may post. Your comment will appear only after we review and then approve it. It will take us several hours at most to review it.

    Please note that all one-sentence comments will be automatically rejected as an anti-spam measure.

    Subscribe without commenting