Phishing Website Found Targeting Sterling Savings Bank Customers Part 1

anti spam






TOKYO (MacHouse) – There is little that we know about Sterling Savings Bank. (Screenshot 01 shows the index page of bank’s website.) Its headquarters are located in Spokane, Washington, USA. The bank has branches in such states as Washington, Idaho, Oregon and Montana. We learned about the existence of this financial institution only a few hours ago. The Sterling Savings Bank is the latest phishing target.





Sterling Savings Bank phishing
Screenshot 01 – Source: Sterling Savings Bank
  Sterling Savings Bank phishing
Screenshot 02 – Source: MacHouse
  Sterling Savings Bank phishing
Screenshot 03 – Source: Unknown






An organized cyber scum group has circulated at least one spam message randomly targeting Sterling Savings Bank. The subject line of the spam message says






Attention – Important Customer Information






The body of the message indicates that the ‘Net Banking account’ of the recipient is about to expire. Therefore, he or she is urged to update their account by accessing






http://updates.sterlingsavingsbank.com/onlineserv/CM






But there is no host at this URL. The underlying URL behind it is actually http://89.187.49.10/onlineserv/CM/. And that’s where a phishing website is set up to steal account information from Sterling Savings Bank’s online banking customers.

Screenshot 04 shows the phishing website hosted at http://89.187.49.10/onlineserv/CM/. It doesn’t resemble the genuine login page of Sterling Savings Bank’s website at all. (See Screenshot 05.) If you enter login information and click on the Submit button, you will end up at an error page. (See Screenshot 06.)





Sterling Savings Bank phishing
Screenshot 04 – Source: http://89.187.49.10
  Sterling Savings Bank phishing
Screenshot 05 – Source: Sterling Savings Bank
  Sterling Savings Bank phishing
Screenshot 06 – Source: http://89.187.49.10






So where is this phishing website hosted? The IP address of 89.187.49.10 shown in the URL indicates that the phishing website may be hosted by an unidentified web hosing company in Moldova. The IP address of 89.187.49.10 is actually that of the hosting web server itself.

We will have a more detailed report soon.






References

Sterling Savings Bank Company Information | Indeed.com

This entry was posted in Internet security and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Comment spam protected by SpamBam

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.