MacHouse video tutorials for Mac search engine optimization Spam database Web Hosting providers Web Hosting review web hosting providers MacHouse Help

June 10, 2008

Possible Organized YouTube Partner Program Scam, Right? (1)

Filed under: Internet security — Administrator @ 8:12 pm
Posted about 2 years and 2 months ago

anti spam






TOKYO (MacHouse) - We received a spam message more than 6 hours ago. It’s a very simple message. The title is hahaha see this video. (See Screenshot 01.) The message itself is best youtube video ;). Then there is a link. The domain is youtube-r.com. Ahh… It’s not exactly the YouTube website. At first, I thought I would be redirected to a computer-virus-distributing website of some sort by clicking on the link. Wait… Does this have to do with the recent outbreak of YouTube pharmacy spam accounts? As shown in Screenshot 02, career spammers have recently created several dozen YouTube accounts to forward Internet users to fake online pharmacy stores. Actually, that’s not the case. In fact, there is no underlying link behind the given one. So the link shown in the message is the exact destination. But if I click on the link, I get redirected to YouTube. Ohh… YouTube? Why?





YouTube Partnership scam HilariousVideosLol
Screenshot 01 - Source: MacHouse
  YouTube Partnership scam HilariousVideosLol
Screenshot 02 - Source: YouTube
  YouTube Partnership scam HilariousVideosLol
Screenshot 03 - Source: YouTube






Interestingly, no matter how many times you access http://youtube-r.com, you will get redirected to http://youtube.com/watch?v=IFX4zhNubBI&feature=related or equivalent, depending on the choice of your country. (See Screenshot 03.) The user account name is HilariousVideosLol. If you take a close look at Screenshot 03, you will find that this particular video has been watched more than 1.1 million times. Whoa… That’s quite impressive. But there is something fishy about this spam operation.

Let’s see. What are chances that somebody only wanted to share an interesting video with us? That’s not the exact intention of the spammer, right? If you access not just http://youtube-r.com/watch?v=soIppEXMzxs&feature=related but http://youtube-r.com, you will get redirected to a particular YouTube video. They could have simply pasted the link of http://youtube.com/watch?v=IFX4zhNubBI&feature=related, but they didn’t. Why?

Our guess is that this is an organized YouTube Partner Program scam operation. They want to send Internet users to particular YouTube accounts to earn ad money. Note that we have no information that the group behind the account of HilariousVideosLol joins YouTube Partner Program.

By the way, where is the website of youtube-r.com hosted? The IP location of the website is 211.95.79.57. So it’s possibly hosted in China.

We will have a more detailed report in several hours.






Click on the button to watch a documentation video. VTC
Click on the button to watch more documentation videos. VTC





********** ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** ********** **********

MacHouse is not funded by tax payers' money. We have limited resources. We also need time to sleep and eat just as others. So we will not act as the International police to contact all victims of website abuse. All you have to do is to subscribe to spam messages and spam posts. If we can, why don't you?







Leave a Reply


You are prohibited from posting comments merely to advertise your website. Please read Rules and About This Blog at the top menu bar for more information.

Because of spam-comment criminals, we are forced to manually moderate every comment that you may post. Your comment will appear only after we review and then approve it. It will take us several hours at most to review it.

Please note that all one-sentence comments will be automatically rejected as an anti-spam measure.

Subscribe without commenting