Fake PornTube Website With Computer Virus Targeting Mac Users

anti spam






TOKYO (MacHouse) – We reported the existence of a fake PornTube website back in January. Since then, we’ve seen several other similar websites. And we found another one hosted with the domain of anykindclips.com. Actually, we first ran into a suspicious website hosted at another domain. It’s freese-x.net. (See Screenshot 01.) If you access this website, you will be instantly redirected to the website at anykindclips.com with an affiliate ID of 4078. (See Screenshot 02.) It’s a fake PornTube website obviously because the domain is not porntube.com. It’s a fake PornTube website because the clickable menu items (Sign Up, My Account, History…) at the top are intentionally disabled. And if you click on any of the video windows, you will be redirected to another website with the domain of anykindvids.com. (See Screenshot 03.) That’s where you will be forced to download a Mac-OS-based disk image (.dmg) file containing a computer virus.





fake porntube freese-x.net anykindclips.com ukrtelegroup.com.ua ukr tele group
Screenshot 01 – Source: freese-x.net
  fake porntube freese-x.net anykindclips.com ukrtelegroup.com.ua ukr tele group
Screenshot 02 – Source: anykindclips.com
  fake porntube freese-x.net anykindclips.com ukrtelegroup.com.ua ukr tele group
Screenshot 03 – Source: anykindvids.com






The disk image that you will be forced to download at anykindvids.com contains a Mac-targeting computer virus. Norton AntiVirus detects a computer virus called OSX.RSPlug.A. (See Screenshot 04-5.) According to Symantec, it’s a Trojan horse derivative designed to change DNS settings. (See Screenshot 06.)





fake porntube freese-x.net anykindclips.com ukrtelegroup.com.ua ukr tele group
Screenshot 04 – Source: MacHouse
  fake porntube freese-x.net anykindclips.com ukrtelegroup.com.ua ukr tele group
Screenshot 05 – Source: MacHouse
  fake porntube freese-x.net anykindclips.com ukrtelegroup.com.ua ukr tele group
Screenshot 06 – Source: symantec.com






Let’s see the surroundings of this case. Interestingly, they are all registered through the same company. It’s ESTDomains (www.estdomains.com). (See Screenshot 07-9.) It’s one of the world’s most popular domain companies supported by cyber criminals. Why? You ask them. We don’t know the exact reasons. We only suspect that one major reason is that ESTDomains was selling .info and .org domains as low as $1, each. That’s why we saw so many .info and .org spam domains last year.





fake porntube freese-x.net anykindclips.com ukrtelegroup.com.ua ukr tele group
Screenshot 07 – Source: Completewhois.Com
  fake porntube freese-x.net anykindclips.com ukrtelegroup.com.ua ukr tele group
Screenshot 08 – Source: Completewhois.Com
  fake porntube freese-x.net anykindclips.com ukrtelegroup.com.ua ukr tele group
Screenshot 09 – Source: Completewhois.Com






Finally, let’s see where these websites are hosted. The websites at the domains of freese-x.net, anykindclips.com and anykindvids.com don’t share the same IP location. After gathering information, we believe





  • the website at freese-x.net is hosted by CalPOP.com, Inc. of Los Angels, California, USA (See Screenshot 10.)
  • the website at anykindclips.com is hosted by WingedHosting (High Sky Hosting) of Saint Petersburg, Russia (See Screenshot 11.)
  • the website at anykindvids.com is hosted by Ukr Tele Group Ltd. of Odessa, Ukraine (See Screenshot 12.)





  • We have heard of Ukr Tele Group before. They hosted the website at mynudenetwork.com. A cyber criminal group was distributing a file containing multiple computer viruses. Let’s take a good look at Screenshot 12. It says they are not accepting new applications because their clients don’t abide by terms of use. Hmm… That’s interesting. Back in March 21, we saw the same sign. Looking at Screenshot 09, anykindvids.com was registered just a few weeks ago. So their existing client is hosting this fake PornTube website? Or Ukr Tele Group occasionally accept applications?





    fake porntube freese-x.net anykindclips.com ukrtelegroup.com.ua ukr tele group
    Screenshot 10 – Source: calpop.com
      fake porntube freese-x.net anykindclips.com ukrtelegroup.com.ua ukr tele group
    Screenshot 11 – Source: hiskyhost.net
      fake porntube freese-x.net anykindclips.com ukrtelegroup.com.ua ukr tele group
    Screenshot 12 – Source: ukrtelegroup.com.ua






    Click on the button to watch a documentation video. VTC
    Click on the button to watch more documentation videos. VTC






    References:

    Computer Viruses Confirmed at Malicious Website Hosted by Ukrainian Web Hosting Company
    India’s 6th Most Popular Website Exploited with iFrame Injection, Possible Exposure to a Computer Virus
    Warning: Fake PornTube Websites Found

    This entry was posted in Internet security and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

    5 Responses to Fake PornTube Website With Computer Virus Targeting Mac Users

    1. worriedfella says:

      Hi there. If you’ve downloaded one of these dmg’s, how do you find & destroy the trojan horse that has been put onto your system?

    2. You need anti-virus software like Norton AntiVirus and McAfee VirusScan to detect and delete virus codes. For this particular virus, Norton AntiVirus detects it. I don’t know for McAfee.

      Good luck

    3. Juny says:

      How i can removed this virus ?? i allrdy try all what us imagine .. please help me.

    4. I would re-format HD and then reinstall OS.

    5. Ange Wayne says:

      So they are just targeting Mac Users? Every time people must be careful in surfing the internet, downloading everything, clicking on links,etc. We must be responsible in our own and we must not believe in all things that is written on the internet. We must also make sure that our computer is protected in all kinds of viruses.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

    Comment spam protected by SpamBam

    Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.