ANTIVIRUS-SCANONLINE.COM: Response to a Comment at FORUMS.SLICKDEALS.NET

web hosting solution






TOKYO (MacHouse) – Several hours ago, we wanted to collect more information on the fake anti-virus scan website at antivirus-scanonline.com, which we found a few days ago. So we turned to Google for help. The search phrase was antivirus-scanonline.com, and Google found 18 matches. One of the search hits caught our interest. The title is ‘WARNING! New dangerous virus – SlickDeals.net Forums.’ (See Screenshot 01.) It’s good to know that somebody found the article I have written useful. But I was shocked when I read a counter-comment.





antivirus-scanner.com antivirus-scanonline.com fake anti-virus scan
Screenshot 01 – Source: Google
  antivirus-scanner.com antivirus-scanonline.com fake anti-virus scan
Screenshot 02 – Source: forums.slickdeals.net
  antivirus-scanner.com antivirus-scanonline.com fake anti-virus scan
Screenshot 03 – Source: wmco.org






So somebody wrote and said that he or she did not trust us. This person wrote






Also, I would not put to much faith in that website, after looking at the sites they claimed where infected, I did not find a single redirect on any of them.






He or she continues by saying






1 of the sites was even taken down as of Jan 1st of this year so It’s odd they would claim it’s a “new” infection.






In fact, we know which website this person is talking about. If you go to the website located at wmco.org, it says ‘Sorry, We’re Closed.’ (See Screenshot 03.) At the bottom of the page, it says ‘Up-dated January 1, 2008.’ So I suppose this is the website that the person who calls himself/herself Fun-Gi was talking about.

So if the website is no longer updated, does that mean it cannot be exploited? That’s definitely not true. If you access this URL, depending on a few factors, you can be redirected to the fake anti-virus scan website of antivirus-scanonline.com. If the status bar says ‘Waiting for antivirus-scanonline.com…,’ you have a few seconds to shut the page. (See Screenshot 04.) Or you will be involuntarily redirected to the website of antivirus-scanonline.com and forced to download a file containing a Trojan virus.





antivirus-scanner.com antivirus-scanonline.com fake anti-virus scan
Screenshot 04 – Source: wmco.org
  antivirus-scanner.com antivirus-scanonline.com fake anti-virus scan
Screenshot 05 – Source: MacHouse
  antivirus-scanner.com antivirus-scanonline.com fake anti-virus scan
Screenshot 06 – Source: MacHouse






By the way, this isn’t the first time the website of wmco.org is/was used as a redirection point for a fake anti-virus scan website. This website is still used as a redirection point for the fake anti-virus scan website of antivirus-scanner.com. In fact, I tried to contact the webmaster of the website a week ago. However, their contact e-mail address is not listed at the website. So I found a couple of e-mail addresses after checking out their WhoIs registration for the domain. And I sent an e-mail notification, but they have not removed ill files. (See Screenshot 05.)

I run this website mostly by myself with a few helpers, sometimes. We are not funded by tax payers’ money. So far, not a single person has made a donation. Despite our limited time and funding, we try our best to contact and give victims of exploitation kind notification though we are obligated to do so whenever we can. Writing to victims of exploitation does not let us pay our bills for sure.

I also tried to contact a couple of people at Lehigh University because multiple department websites have been exploited for redirection to antivirus-scanonline.com. (See Screenshot 06.) The problem is that many victims ignore our kind notifications or don’t even check their messages. Some of them are definitely destined to become victims in this respect.

Finally, as for the person who posted a silly comment at forums.clickdeals.net, failure is not ours but his/hers. If you take a simple look at the article Fun-Gi refers to, there are a couple of screenshots showing the exact URLs where the websites are exploited. (See Screenshot 07-9.) So much for the person who says he ‘did not find a single redirect on any of them,’ huh!?





antivirus-scanner.com antivirus-scanonline.com fake anti-virus scan
Screenshot 07 – From Article of May 23
  antivirus-scanonline.com fake anti-virus scan ?prj
Screenshot 08 – Reproduction of Screenshot 01 from p=355
  antivirus-scanonline.com fake anti-virus scan ?prj
Screenshot 09 – Reproduction of Screenshot 02 from p=355






Click on the button to watch a documentation video. VTC
Click on the button to watch more documentation videos. VTC






References:

WARNING! New dangerous virus – SlickDeals.net Forums
The Name of A Next Anti-Virus Scan Domain Will Be…
File Determined to Contain Troj/FakeVir-BF
What Do We Know About These Fake Anti-Virus Scan Websites?
Lehigh University’s Multiple Department Websites Exploited for Redirection to ANTIVIRUS-SCANONLINE.COM
ANTIVIRUS-SCANONLINE.COM: 15 Websites Victimized in the Latest ‘?prj’ Exploitation Scheme
Warning: A New Fake Anti-Virus Scan Website Discovered
The Official Website of British Band Camera Obscura Exploited for Fake Anti-Virus Scan
Sitemap Hack, ANTIVIRUS-SCANNER.COM Invading At Least 10 Websites Including Arizona State University’s Site
ANTIVIRUS-SCANNER.COM and Troj/Dwnldr-HDG
Warning: A New Hack Scheme Discovered Involving Anti-Virus Scan Website

This entry was posted in Internet security and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Comment spam protected by SpamBam

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.