ANTIVIRUS-SCANONLINE.COM: 15 Websites Victimized in the Latest ‘?prj’ Exploitation Scheme

anti spam






TOKYO (MacHouse) – We reported several hours ago that an international cyber scum group had launched a new exploitation and redirection scheme possibly to infect Internet users with a computer virus. Victims from the previous exploitation scheme had a signature of ‘stmp?’ The latest exploitation scheme involves a new signature, which is ‘?prj.’ The following is a list of websites being victimized in the latest exploitation scheme.





  • www.keioc.net
  • www.eu.equinix.com
  • www.btfresca.com
  • gargoyle.flagler.edu
  • www.equinix.fr
  • www.nhbia.org
  • www.unitedplantsavers.org
  • www.fresca.co.uk
  • www.tcadp.org
  • www.tix.ch
  • wmco.org
  • www.parity.com
  • josaka.com
  • www.maxiscoot.com
  • www.ece.lehigh.edu





  • If one accesses any of the URL established by the exploiter like the ones shown in Screenshot 01-2, he or she will have a few seconds to escape from redirection. The new fake anti-virus scan website is hosted under the domain of antivirus-scanonline.com. (See Screenshot 03.) Then the redirection victim will be forced to download a file titled ‘AtnvrsInstall.exe.’ (See Screenshot 04.) This Windows-based file presumably contains one or more computer viruses.





    antivirus-scanonline.com fake anti-virus scan ?prj
    Screenshot 01 – Source: tcadp.org
      antivirus-scanonline.com fake anti-virus scan ?prj
    Screenshot 02 – Source: fresca.co.uk
      antivirus-scanonline.com fake anti-virus scan ?prj
    Screenshot 03 – Source: antivirus-scanonline.com






    For now, we don’t know exactly where the new fake anti-virus scan website is hosted. As shown in Screenshot 05, the domain of antivirus-scanonline.com points to 4 nameservers. And tracing one of these nameservers has taken us to the website of a mysterious web hosting company in California called InterCage.





    antivirus-scanonline.com fake anti-virus scan ?prj
    Screenshot 04 – Source: antivirus-scanonline.com
      antivirus-scanonline.com fake anti-virus scan ?prj
    Screenshot 05 – Source: MacHouse
      antivirus-scanonline.com fake anti-virus scan ?prj
    Screenshot 06 – Source: intercage






    When we visited the website of InterCage several hours ago, it said ‘WEBSITE LAUNCHING SOON.’ (See Screenshot 06.) Actually, this isn’t the first time we ran into this website. About 12 days ago, we arrived at this website and saw the exactly same message after tracing one of the nameservers designated by the domain of antivirus-scanner.com






    Click on the button to watch a documentation video. VTC
    Click on the button to watch more documentation videos. VTC






    References:

    Warning: A New Fake Anti-Virus Scan Website Discovered
    The Official Website of British Band Camera Obscura Exploited for Fake Anti-Virus Scan
    Sitemap Hack, ANTIVIRUS-SCANNER.COM Invading At Least 10 Websites Including Arizona State University’s Site
    ANTIVIRUS-SCANNER.COM and Troj/Dwnldr-HDG
    Warning: A New Hack Scheme Discovered Involving Anti-Virus Scan Website

    This entry was posted in Internet security and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

    3 Responses to ANTIVIRUS-SCANONLINE.COM: 15 Websites Victimized in the Latest ‘?prj’ Exploitation Scheme

    1. jim grice says:

      Is there a way to send the persons malware people a nasty message at least? I would feel better if I could at the least tell the what idiots and scum-bucket drinkers they are.

    2. Yes and no, Jim. If you check their domain registration, there must have a contact e-mail address. If you want to send them messages, you can use that e-mail address. However, criminals usually use fake e-mail addresses. Secondly, they don’t necessarily understand English. Most importantly, the best way of sending a real good message is to destroy their operation, which isn’t really difficult to do.

      We don’t do it often any more because destroying scam websites doesn’t bring us anything. Last time, we had the fake anti-virus website at antivirus-scanonline.com closed, but nobody praised us or bothered to express their gratitude. That’s something that the police should do, being supported by tax payers’ money.

    3. PK says:

      I agree totally, i heard about the closed website, these “crims” should be killed

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

    Comment spam protected by SpamBam

    Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.