
TOKYO (MacHouse) – Cyber criminals often send messages to Hotmail accounts to phish PayPal and eBay users. This is the first time we have acquired a message targeted at Amazon customers. The main message goes
“We are contacting you to inform you that our Account Review Team identified some unusual activity in your account. In accordance with Amazon’s User Agreement and to ensure that your account has not been compromised, access to your account was limited.”
One bizarre aspect of this message is that the sender is shown as Bank of America Corporation ©. But the sender’s address is shown as Global-Privacy@register.net. The message urges you to log in your account. That’s an apparent indication that it’s sent to deceive Amazon customers. There is a link shown in the message. You don’t want to click on it if the message urges you to log in your account. In fact, if you see the source of the message… You will be redirected to a free website hosted at tripod if you click on it. As you probably know already, many phishing websites are hosted at Tripod.
By the time we accessed amazonsecure.tripod.com, Tripod had removed it. Unless you have anti-virus software installed on your computer, it’s not safe for us to click on the links shown in the messages from strangers. Several months ago, we found a malicious website hosted at Tripod. The website was set up to infect Mac users with a computer virus.
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |


