2nd-Year Price Increase Scam: How We Are Deceived and Ripped Off by WEBSITESPOT.COM (CHEAP-DOMAINNAMES.COM)

Several years ago, when I was actively playing Age of Mythology online, I met a guy who called himself Nemesis. I only know that he was from North Dakota. He knew more about web hosting more than I did at the time. He was hosting a website through his home computer. He mentioned that he purchased his domain at http://cheap-domainnames.com. And he recommended it if I ever needed to buy domains. A few years after, we needed to register a domain of our own. So we went to cheap-domainnames.com. The price of a .com domain was US$8.10. (See Screenshot 01.) (Umm… Actually, I thought it was under US$8.00.) Anyway, how much are we paying for the same domain now? Well, we are paying $2.09 more. (See Screenshot 02.) Right, second-year price increases…
![]() Screenshot 01 - Source: MacHouse |
![]() Screenshot 02 - Source: MacHouse |
![]() Screenshot 03 - Source: websitespot.com |
They seem to have changed their main domain to websitespot.com. Looking at their price list, prices are quite affordable. One .com domain costs only US$6.95. (See Screenshot 03.) Whoa… I’m going to buy more .com domains today! Not that fast… That’s just a first-year price. They won’t tell you what a 2nd-year price will be. Following years, you will be actually paying as much as US$10.19 as shown in Screenshot 02. So that will be a 31.8% price increase.
So who is behind the website at http://cheap-domainnames.com or http://websitespot.com? According to WhoIs information for websitespot.com, registrant’s name is shown as David Lalumendre. (See Screenshot 04.) But there is something odd about this profile. Registrant’s address is in Kansas City, Missouri. The phone number is shown as 480-264-2500. 486 is not an area code used in Missouri. I lived in Kirksville, Missouri for 3 and a half years. There are two area codes used in Missouri. One is 816, and the other number is 314. (more…)




















